Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
57 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My first ride off-road on the CX bike today went OK, but narrow and overgrown trails made it tough to get a rhythm together and other than some time spent in the park doing dismounts and remounts, I'm not sure I got a lot of benefit. I think my fitness training is best done on the road but as a total novice I need to find a place to develop my bike handling skills...

What do you guys do to train off-road and where do you go? I havent even been to a race yet so dont really know what to expect on a UK course, except for mud when the weather turns! I have a feeling its not much like the local trails I have access to though...

Any suggestions?

·
Registered
1,305 Posts
I've used a local park and have thrown out a few logs as barriers to work on my skills. I also found a small trail behind the local highschool/middle school and I've made mixture of road/grass/off camber and single track. I can do this loop in around 1/2 hour or less.

how about some single track local to you?

·
Game on, b*tches!
13,467 Posts
Yea. I use a local park like c-lo. A few spots where I can dismount and remount, although you can practice that anywhere. I use a few trees as pylons and do figure "8"'s and an off-camber slalom course when Mr Grumpy lawn maintanence man isn't around:p

·
Registered
1,297 Posts
The local private school has a killer loop that they've cut for the X-country team. They've linked it into a series of corn fields. The corn fields have double track paths for trucks and farm vehicles.
Once I cut down through the bottom of the fields, there's a hinky, off-camber turn that leads to a 500m section with 4 big mudholes and then back up into thhe school ground via a 50-60m run-up.
This leads to crushed stone, then to pavement and back around to the farm field double track.
The loop, at race pace, is about 8 minutes...

·
Registered
57 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·