Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello. I am new to road bikes. Been on a mountain bike for the last 20 years. I am 5'11",195 lb and a 32 inseam and 46 years old. I will be riding club rides and maybe a race or two. One of these three bikes will be under me. Any ideas?
Thanks for any help.

·
n00bsauce
13,627 Posts
Obviously, the Bianchi. When given the choice of relative equals, always go for the one with pedigree. Not dissing Schwinn (or even GT) but celeste is the winner, hands down, IF it fits. If it doesn't, go with what fits, regardless of pedigree or snoberie or whatevery.

·
Impulse Athletic Coaching
5,758 Posts
I disagree with the pedigree idea. I would go with the GT because a friend who rides for Jelly Belly likes it. Bianchi would be my #2.

I would not go with the Schwinn Peloton. Did they even fix that retarded problem with the rear end where you couldn't swap wheels without completely taking off the rear skewer?

·
n00bsauce
13,627 Posts
Pedigree because of the history of the brand, nothing else. All these frames are generic asian alu. The parts are pretty comparable. There's really nothing to set them apart other than the brand and the fit. Glad your friend likes GT but that's hardly a reason to choose one over the other. Fit is a good reason and having the name Bianchi is another (although minor and totally subjective), IMHO. Plus, celeste is so traditional and still cool.

Not sure what you mean about the rear wheel problem. I've got a buddy with a Peleton and he can remove and re-install wheels without any problem.

·
Impulse Athletic Coaching
5,758 Posts
Last year we were given Schwinn Pelotons for nationals. If you flatted, you couldn't remove or install a new rear wheel without taking out the skewer. Worst design flaw, ever.