Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
At the moment, I'm looking at the lower end Trek FX, Scott Sub, and the Fisher Monona (although I'm not sure the Monona comes in my size--my road bike is 61cm Trek Madone 5.2). I'm looking for something that I can ride to work carrying my trombone (professional musician...), run to the supermarket, ride with the family, attach the kids' tag-along and/or Burley, etc. Essentially, I'm tired of buying gas and want to get out of the car altogether! I want a decent ride without spending a whole lot in case of wreck/theft/whatever. I love my road bike, but throwing my horn on my back or attaching a Burley to my Madone aren't options for me. I am open to further suggestions as well. I am new to the commuting thing, so fire away. Thanks very much.

·
Registered
162 Posts
I have no idea where you are, or what the local cycle community is like.

Here in Boston, there's a small but growing cadre of cyclists that ride older cycles, stripped down, no labels, and good, but older components. And many of the local commuters around here ride single speed, if not fixed gear. Traffic is reliably snarly in these parts, with a lot of traffic lights, and nothing moves very fast. So it can be a lot easier to manage if you don't have to shift all the time. As long as everything is in good repair, all that's left is adjustments, and it's easy to find yourself riding something that isn't thief bait, but still handles and feels remarkably sweet. Picture the normal elite cyclist lust for something new and shiny, and turn that on its head. Go for reliable, but dated, and don't worry about looks. You don't want attention, you want the bike to be there to take you back home again when you're through with whatever you're doing.