Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
367 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Being rather new to training, Its time to step up to the next level and purchase a HRM. On one hand a wireless watch type with cadence and speed/mileage would have all the bells and whistles, but are they reliable? Am I better off with a basic wireless HRM? I know that the answer depends on my needs, but as a beginner, I'm not sure of my needs. So any input & advice is appreciated.

tks

·
Registered
7 Posts
Hrm

Hi, I'm a little new to these monitors, yet I can pass on some of my research.
The Polar co. is the originator of the HRM and tend to keep the lead in research and products. Other companys have less expensive models, but you get what you pay for.

Garmin has tried to enter with some versions which keep track of your distance running/cycling. The Polar website has a moderate amount of info. Depending on what you are interested you can start from $100 and go up to about $400.

The F11 is a newer model. The 625 allows for both cycling and has a footpod to keep track of your running distance. All this can be down loaded to a computer.
What you do with the info. of course is important. There are many charts and recommendations for people depending on their exercise goals: ie sprints or ironmans or long rides.
Good luck

·
Cat 6
4,696 Posts
I've got a wirless polar with heartrate and my only issue is that in the Fall/Winter when using a headlamp the HID interferes with the wireless transmission. It's less interference the farther from the lamp but it can only go so far. Otherwise it's been fine. Next time I'll likely go with a Garmin 305 GPS altho I would think you run the risk on heavy cloudy days of getting inaccurate data.

·
Registered
16 Posts