Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

· Registered
42 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
When the miles pile up, what would be more comfortable -- the Scott CR1 Team or the Cervelo Soloist Team? I was about to pull the trigger on the Soloist when I saw the CR1 again and tried it again later. I liked testing both bikes, but I couldn't compare comfort much, and I think as a newbie, I'll be able to ride longer and train harder with a more comfortable ride.

Plus, when not training (will use it in between my run training and possibly for duathlons if I'm up to it), I'll probably end up cruising with a lot of non-road biker friends on more casual bikes.

Thanks!

· Registered
3,477 Posts
Tires and wheels will likely have a bigger influence on the smoothness of the ride than frame material. As will the rest of the contact points, such as saddle, handlebars, and shoe/pedal combo. As long as the frame allows you to get your body into a comfortable position, the material itself is less of a factor, generally.

· Cycling induced anoesis
13,019 Posts
IMO considering the bikes you're listing and your definition of comfort, well... you should be looking at different bikes!

In general I agree with krisdrum's post, but we differ in that, as an example, you set up a Specialized Roubaix and a Scott CR-1/ Cervelo Soloist Team the same (wheels, tires, contact points), the Roubaix will be the more comfortable (using your definition) of the three. I'd include the new Madone and, to a lesser extent, the Spec Tarmac in those comparisons (meaning both would be more comfortable than the Scott or Cervelo). So IMO frame design/ materials matters.

BTW, you're absolutely right in saying that you'll be able to ride longer and train harder with a more comfortable ride, so whatever you decide get a real bike fit!!

· It's in the game!
2,060 Posts