·
Premium Member
5,457 Posts
Which frame fits you better?

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Honestly they both felt about the same. I am new to road but not biking altogether I MTB a good bit so I realize my ideal fit may be different then some.

The bikes are the same frame size also.

·
Registered
23,049 Posts
If both bikes fit equally... both have 500mi... both are in the same condition..
The Specialized Allez is the better deal. Has better components and is running 9sp (the Defy is 8sp).

One thing to consider.. the Defy has a triple crankset. The Allez comes in a double and triple crank. Not sure which one the bike has and which you think you'd want.

I MTB a good bit so I realize my ideal fit may be different then some.
Your ideal fit will be ideal to your body. MTB'ing really isn't relevant to your fit. Many of us ride both. My MTB isn't set up anything like the road bike.

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
If both bikes fit equally... both have 500mi... both are in the same condition..
The Specialized Allez is the better deal. Has better components and is running 9sp (the Defy is 8sp).

One thing to consider.. the Defy has a triple crankset. The Allez comes in a double and triple crank. Not sure which one the bike has and which you think you'd want.

Your ideal fit will be ideal to your body. MTB'ing really isn't relevant to your fit. Many of us ride both. My MTB isn't set up anything like the road bike.
Thanks for the advice, it looks like it is the triple. Here is a picture:

https://images.craigslist.org/3Ee3G73Lc5F35Je5Mcd425f30ac156c6f1c08.jpg

Also last option besides buying one of these for 600. Should I go to a LBS and buy a fitted Trek 1.1 or a new Allez?

·
Registered
23,049 Posts
Thanks for the advice, it looks like it is the triple. Here is a picture:

https://images.craigslist.org/3Ee3G73Lc5F35Je5Mcd425f30ac156c6f1c08.jpg
Good thing you posted that. It's not the Alum frame Allez! It's the 2005 steel frame version.