Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

· Registered
453 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey all, I'm looking to race a bit (or a lot, depnding on how things work out) this summer. I'd like to get a second set of wheels for race use and I was thinking of trying out tubulars to see if I liked them. Keep in mind that I'm a college student and so don't have a lot of money (the understatement of the century). I'd like an inexpensive wheel that's very durable and relatively light (but durability is more important). I'll be running a shimano cassette on the rear, shouldn't be a problem but who knows.

Any thoughts?

· Registered
23 Posts
go custom

For appx. 400 or so you can get a wheelset built by Ligero( who posts on this forum often)or Mike Garcia @ oddsandendos.com. I've heard lots of good things about them from others and plan to purchase wheels from one of them myself.

· Registered
453 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
jaseone said:
Read the other umpteen threads that have been posted about what wheels to get in the very recent past maybe? Then ask more pointed questions.
I thought I was adequately pointed, but to sum up, I'm looking for:

Inexpensive
Durable
Inexpensive
Tubular
Inexpensive
Wheels

Just looking for some recomendations, didn't see any useful threads that suggested tubular wheels (except high-cost CF aero designs) and I though it best to just ask a direct question. I'm just looking to get a set to see if it's worth making an investment in good tubies. As I don't have a lot of money, I like to try things out a bit before I go spend a month's salary on them, that's just me though.

· Registered
498 Posts
dperk789 said:
For appx. 400 or so you can get a wheelset built by Ligero( who posts on this forum often)or Mike Garcia @ oddsandendos.com. I've heard lots of good things about them from others and plan to purchase wheels from one of them myself.