·
Registered
253 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Background:
I have a 2012 CAAD10 Ultegra (3)
I weigh 200lbs
I occasionally race, fast group rides
I want a wheelset that I can train and race on and I really believe I want a set of medium aero rims

I have a few narrowed down and I was wondering what you might recommend based on value and performance...

Mavic Cosmic Carbone SLRs
Mavic Cosmic Carbone SLEs
Zipp Firecrest 404 Clinchers
Reynolds Forty-Six

Thanks for any advice.

·
Premium Member
3,494 Posts
With a budget of $3000 consider two sets of wheels:
  • Shimano DuraAce C24 clincher/tubeless for training and windy days (< $1000)
  • 40-50mm carbon rim tubulars for race day (I am no expert but you should be able to find something good for around $2000).

·
Registered
71 Posts
I'm a bigger rider too and have nothing but good things to say about my DA 7850 50mm clinchers. I have rode these as everyday wheels and they have 20k plus on them and still true, never touched them. I did get a new set of Mavic CCU's, will see how they compare when weather gets better.

·
Registered
733 Posts
I've had lots of wheels over the years. Based on your choices I would go with either the Carbone SLR or Zipp Firecrest. I personally don't like to have separate wheels for training and racing - I like racing on what I train with as well. While tubulars provide maybe a slight benefit in crit type situations, clinchers are at least as good in every other condition. Plus having to carry a spare tire is no longer appealing for me.

·
Hanging 10 bra
1,125 Posts
Check out Boyd new redesigned wheelsets! They look to be really nice and worth the money. Or if you wanted, snag a set of the 38mm 2012 wheels at a major discounted cost. I have quite a few pairs of their wheels and very much happy with the design and how they hold up. I have also had tons of brand name wheels too and so far these have by far out performed those.

·
&#948;anned
7,006 Posts