Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
586 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Today, while riding, my bike threw up a rock that hit the car next to me in the door. It was a brand new car and may have caused a chip or small dent. The owner looked angrily at me and kept going. If they had pulled over and damage was caused, who's fault is it, from a legal standpoint? I guess it would be like a rock getting thrown up by another cars wheel and breaking your windshield. I think in that circumstance, the problem lies with the vehicle with the broken windshield. What do you think?

·
Registered
591 Posts
"vehicle not responsible for objects coming from road" ;)

Sucks to be them, but that's the risk you take driving a pretty new car; it's not going to stay pretty and new forever.

·
Moderatus Puisne
15,883 Posts
I am not a lawyer, but when one is driving a car, and a rock from the vehicle in front of you cracks your windshield, it's not on them, is it?

·
Registered
5,263 Posts
Weird case because an accident is an accident, but this was a different accident. It wasn't a "direct" accident. You didn't crash into the car with the arguable case that you could've taken better precautionary measures. A rock was kicked up. You can only be so attentive about every damn rock in the road, and it's just something that exists in nature. When turbulent air around a moving car upsets nearby people and cars, no legal action takes place. Eh...probably not the best analogy.

I always worry of a time where a kicked up branch on the trail finally nails an unfortunate someone. That being said, you involuntarily kicked up an item that hit a car. Driver and passengers are lucky the rock didn't nail them, and it's not your rock as if it were a pet. That's where I'd leave it.

·
Registered
2,745 Posts
Argentius said:
I am not a lawyer, but when one is driving a car, and a rock from the vehicle in front of you cracks your windshield, it's not on them, is it?