Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So, I've been cycling for about two years and am now the father of a 6 month old stud with baby number two already on the way! Life is good, except for my cycling time. I've gone from riding 4 times a week to i'll be happy if i can just get out on Saturday mornings. I've been toying with the idea of bringing my bike to work and getting in some lunchtime rides. Sometimes i wonder if its worth it to ride for an hour or not but in my case some riding is going to be better than no riding.

Just wanted to know who's riding on their lunch breaks and whats your workout plan. My Saturday mornings are gold to me so if i can mix in some weekday rides without taking time away from the family then maybe i can satisfy the craving a little better.

Cheers!

·
Registered
766 Posts
I've pretty much been doing this the last 10 years.. it's certainly made up the largest percentage of my rides ever since I started riding seriously.

I'm a software engineer.. I have almost always been lucky enough to not have meetings around lunchtime, and every office I've ever worked in has had a shower somewhere in the building that I could use. (Most of the companies actively look for this in their office to encourage employees to work out at lunch, my current employer certainly did, it was apparently a requirement when they leased the office.)

The best times are when you have a co-worker to ride with.. that only happened once, but for 2 years when I first started riding I had a much more experienced ex-racer for a manager who really taught me a lot.. (mostly how to suffer, he was really fast) Where I ride now I frequently see groups of riders who are from the same office. (A big defense contractor)

For me it really helps break up the work day.. I have much more concentration in the afternoon and early evening if I get exercise at lunch.

·
Registered
66 Posts