Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

· Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been riding for 7 years and have always had this one nagging problem - I ride too fast (pedal masher).

We have an interstate paved bike path here which is EXTREMELY flat and I have no trouble going for a couple hours plus.

When I ride around town with the hills, however, I seem to crap out at an hour and a half. I have become accustomed to an ungodly amount of resistance on the pedals, and now it feels normal.

I constantly try to make myself slow down, but if I'm not mashing I feel like I'm going at a snail's pace and the ride doesn't feel as fun.

Any tips?

· No team-cest unless 8+!
7,287 Posts
namrufmot said:
I've been riding for 7 years and have always had this one nagging problem - I ride too fast (pedal masher).

We have an interstate paved bike path here which is EXTREMELY flat and I have no trouble going for a couple hours plus.

When I ride around town with the hills, however, I seem to crap out at an hour and a half. I have become accustomed to an ungodly amount of resistance on the pedals, and now it feels normal.

I constantly try to make myself slow down, but if I'm not mashing I feel like I'm going at a snail's pace and the ride doesn't feel as fun.

Any tips?

Get a computer with a cadence function.

Then never settle for anything less than 95rpm.

· Registered
339 Posts
I agree if you're just riding around town then what does it matter? The aim is to have fun so if you enjoy mashing then mash away!

Although personally I like spinning and especially like seeing the people's faces as I leisurely spin past them on hills while they are busy mashing away and huffing & puffing like they are trying to blow the little pig's house down! :D

· Registered
492 Posts
namrufmot said:

Any tips?
Go fast like you're doing and shift up one gear. When your comfortable with that try shifting up another etc... Mashing lowers your hr but blows out your legs.