Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
41 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,
I am new to cycling, and am just wondering if there are any practical reasons for shaving your legs if you are cycling competitively, or if it is just purely looks.

Thanks to all,
Nick

·
Registered
21 Posts
At the top of this section of the beginners forum page is a sticky from funk nuggets....with arguably more info. on shaving and other depilation techniques than you ever wanted to know.

·
Registered
41 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
chasgator said:
At the top of this section of the beginners forum page is a sticky from funk nuggets....with arguably more info. on shaving and other depilation techniques than you ever wanted to know.
yes, i have looked through that. i'm not concerned with the technique, but rather why?

·
NeoRetroGrouch
6,491 Posts
n_schuster said:
Hello,
I am new to cycling, and am just wondering if there are any practical reasons for shaving your legs if you are cycling competitively, or if it is just purely looks.

Thanks to all,
Nick
It's a fraternity kind of thing. It shows that you are a committed member of the roadie cult. - TF

·
Registered
1,859 Posts
Reasons cyclists shave their legs

n_schuster said:
Hello,
There are a variety of reasons cyclists shave their legs, which fall into two basic categories:

Category 1 - Completely bogus reasons that have been made up because cyclists don't want to admit the real reason they shave their legs:
- Makes getting massages easier
- Allows road rash to heal better
- More aerodynamic

Category 2 - Real reasons cyclists shave their leg:
- It looks cool
- To fit in
- Because that's what "real" cyclists do

·
Registered
108 Posts
one explanation

one explanation i heard from a racing roadie, is that when sweat runs down your leg hair it will be fanned by the wind, making an airconditioning effect on your warm muscles. this, in his opinion, contributes to cramps. Is this anywhere near reasonable????

·