Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Yo no fui.
8,486 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm no engineer, but I have always wondered why track hubs have high flanges.

·
Registered
1,860 Posts
Mostly tradition

Pablo said:
I'm no engineer, but I have always wondered why track hubs have high flanges.
In the olden days, it used to be believed that high flange hubs made for a stiffer, stronger wheel. But later it was discovered that flange size has little do with wheel strength, and in fact high flange hubs can be a disadvantage (the spokes take a steeper entry angle into the rim, increasing spoke breakages at the threads).

The reason track wheels have stuck with high flange hubs is largely due to tradition, but also due to the small advantage that a spoke can often be changed on the drive side without having to remove the sprocket (this is a very small advantage, however).

·
Registered
105 Posts
i duno..

people are always talking about how you want a wide hub to make the wheel stronger.. besides, for about 1cm of difference, were talking at most, about 6 degrees (264 spoke length, 245 avg straight length)

you need it wide to keep the wheel from pulling side to side..

and that im using a mtb hub, arnt the road bike rear hubs 35mm shorter?

do you have any proof?

·
Done with winter.
2,635 Posts
Just to add I heard from an old trackie that high flange hubs also help when building a wheel in a 4 cross pattern.. the spokes don't ride up over the heads of neighboring spokes.

The laterally stiffer argument has been debunked by lab tests but that was the belief.

·
Registered
1,860 Posts
Flange height and flange spacing

tamu said:
i duno..

people are always talking about how you want a wide hub to make the wheel stronger.. besides, for about 1cm of difference, were talking at most, about 6 degrees (264 spoke length, 245 avg straight length)

you need it wide to keep the wheel from pulling side to side..