Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
172 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
ok, i did a google machine and didnt come up with anything current.

watching the tour de calif. im seeing guys downing coke.
(im new to cycling races )

whats the deal. ? seems like now a days there has to be something better for u with the carbs etc.

thanks

·
Cranky Old Bastard
2,337 Posts
Cyclists have been using Coke for decades.

Quickly digested carbs, some caffeine and water but not as good as the new high-tech energy drinks.
Some dilute Coke with water for their bottles.

The Pause that Refreshes! Or was that some other soda???

·
Climbs like a sprinter...
6,976 Posts
Umm, because when I've been on the bike riding tempo for five hours and I've burned 4000 calories a Coke taste effing awesome and it won't even be a blip on the waistline.

·
Registered
8,245 Posts
As others have mentioned: quickly digested, carbs and caffeine

To add to this, there is also salt in the soda as well.

It actually makes for a pretty good energy drink that tastes "Really" good for most riders. Also, consider they drink these flat, not with carbonation which keeps the stomach from having issues on the bike.

The biggest thing to not underestimate is the taste ... some of the energy drinks out there are horrible tasting, regardless of how well they work. When you have another option that works great and tastes great ... why go another direction.

·
Registered
172 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
are you sure about the flat thing? all i see is the team car clearly handing over an unopened coke. the rider either opens it or puts in his jersey to give to the other team members....

i dont know of any other way of making it flat without being able to open it.....

as far as the taste. ive been lifting for so long and drinking nasty protein drinks etc. im kind of immune to the bad taste of a lot of these drinks now days.