Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 20 of 51 Posts

·
Registered
838 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
It drives me crazy! Why are there waterbottles flying around in the group ride? Not just when the pack goes over the railroad tracks (when a lost bottle happens about once every 3-4 laps) but even on merely rough road. And THEN bikes start swerving. Are these people using some sort of defective bottle cage? I don't think they are just dropping them. I've been doing this Tuesday night ride for 5 years and my damn water bottle has never gone flying off my bike. WTF?

·
Registered
5,844 Posts
If water bottles are flying, either guys are using crappy cages or dropping them when they go for a drink. I quit using Ciussi cages because my bottles occasionally fell out, and I've never had them fall out of my Tacx Taos. If guys are dropping them when they drink, time to find a new group to ride with.

It is annoying and dangerous. I was on a large charity ride hanging onto the back of one of the front packs when some doofus dropped his bottle while taking a drink. Then the idiot hit his brakes and did a U-turn. He almost took down about 30 riders. This is one reason why I seldom do charity rides any more.

·
NeoRetroGrouch
6,493 Posts
litespeedchick said:
It drives me crazy! Why are there waterbottles flying around in the group ride? Not just when the pack goes over the railroad tracks (when a lost bottle happens about once every 3-4 laps) but even on merely rough road. And THEN bikes start swerving. Are these people using some sort of defective bottle cage? I don't think they are just dropping them. I've been doing this Tuesday night ride for 5 years and my damn water bottle has never gone flying off my bike. WTF?