Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Does anyone have the skinny on a frame offered through Bikesdirect.com called Windsor? Where are they manufactured, any quality issues, etc? Many thanks.

·
Banned
4,302 Posts
TGC said:
Does anyone have the skinny on a frame offered through Bikesdirect.com called Windsor? Where are they manufactured, any quality issues, etc? Many thanks.

Product of Mexico. Been around for awhile. Quality is Okay/Decent from what I've heard and read. Definitely not anything to top notch. I have no personal experience just second hand but I think you usually get what you pay for.

·
Registered
440 Posts
Back in the day ....

TGC said:
I had one in the late 70s - it was an exact copy of a classic Cinelli and was a really nice bike - all Campy Record. I have no idea whether that is still the same company or not. If I am recalling correctly, Eddy Merxck rode a Derosa track bike for his world hour record in Mexico but he, or someone, put Windsor stickers on it thus, supposedly, causing Derosa to wail and cry.

·
Registered
28 Posts
Not recomended!

I owned a '04 Windsor, the ride seamed smooth and i had no problems with the bike.....other than my LBS refering to it as a "wind sock" the font is hard to read and from that moment on it became a Wind sock. Also it had really, REALLY, ugly welds. I would not recomend this frame unless you are short on cash and you cannot afford anything nicer.

·
Registered
12 Posts
Sintesi said:
Product of Mexico. Been around for awhile. Quality is Okay/Decent from what I've heard and read. Definitely not anything to top notch. I have no personal experience just second hand but I think you usually get what you pay for.

these are actually made in taiwan...not mexico by IDEAL who also makes fuji frames and some bianchi i believe.

·
Ti me up
1,242 Posts
Bikesdirect may have bought the name