Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I like the idea of a winged drop bar for my in-progress build.
But I have no experience with them...are these comfortable or is the wing a gimmick?
It's not a racing build...just recreational firetrail stuff.
Does the 'wing' get in the way of mounting 31.8 cross levers on this bar?
Thanks.

·
You call that running?
262 Posts
I'll give you my off the cuff bike snob opinion and then a bit of analysis.

It looks really fred and is designed to solve a nonexistant problem IMO. If you are spending so much time on the tops that you find them uncomfortable, then your TT is probably too long or your bars are too low (i.e. use your hoods and your drops more). The argument that they are more aerodynamic is bogus as well (such a small difference, especially if you tape the tops). I imagine it would make cross levers less effective because it would be harder to get a solid grip on the bar with you pinky and ring fingers while braking.

·
Registered
108 Posts
I have to disagree with the previous poster, winged bars are great if you have experience numbness. I love climbing with them as well. BUT this is for the roadbike. So for the OP, try 'em, you may like them.

Now for CX, no need cause if you are on the tops, you aren't going that fast.....might as well be comfy.

·
Registered
128 Posts
Had them on my road and CX bikes last year. If you're building it up new, it's worth conssidering (i.e. don't switch out an old one if you have a bar already). They are more comfortable if you ride a lot on the tops. As the other posters have mentioned, they don't add anything performance-wise. If you're racing, stick with the traditional bars, as you get a more solid grip on them when you're really hammering.

·
Registered
104 Posts