Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
679 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This is going to be my first winter commuting by bike and I'm not sure what will be the best for my garment choices. Here's a little background commute info.
Some days I ride my bike 9 miles to work. Takes about 25 minutes.
Some days I ride a half mile to a bus stop. Ride the bus for an hour. Then ride a few miles to my work.
It depends wether I'm leaving from my house or my gf's.
I work in construction. I'm a glass guy so I need some heavy duty pants. I'm trying to keep my backpack as empty as possible. So I'd rather not carry an entire set of riding clothes in my bag.
Are there pants that are; good for winter riding, strong enough for a construction worker, not gonna make me sweat my male parts off when I'm on a bus AND not require a major investment (70-120 a pair)
I realize that's asking a lot from one pair of pants. But if I could buy 2-3 pairs of winter commute pants I could easily cycle em for a few months.
Thanks in advance!

·
huvia ja hyötyä
572 Posts
Define "winter".

·
Registered
534 Posts
I've found that the addidas climashell pants (30 bucks at filenes or modells or similar) work really, really well. They're water resistant and windproof, and I have ridden them in some s**t. If it gets really cold, throw a base layer on underneath. Mine is a DC winter, and I ride if the high is in the mid-high thirties.

·
Registered
1,344 Posts
I was all set to respond, but then I read your requirements about the pants.

I can't help with that.

I do ride year round in NE, Lowell Mass., similar weather.

Typical clothing depending on days:
Base layers:
- Voler long sleeve klondike tech shirt. They have a newer Thermal version, but the klondike stuff is good stuff, and less $.

Jersey/Tights
- Long sleeve winter jersey...I have several different kinds, all winter/thermal weight.