Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
947 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have an interesting work issue maybe I can get some opinions on.

I'm a manager of three people in a web design dept. We handle mostly the usability and creative side.

The other dept, the tech side is managed by a guy who is my equal. He also manages three people.

The issue is, he likes to step on my toes and try to tell my people what to do. We do have a bit of cross over in the departments where I can use his people and him mine, but he really likes to play "the boss" sometimes.

Example, tonight he sent out an email after I left to all my people and his asking them to do something a certain way, something I feel he absolutely should have consulted me on first when telling my people I manage to do something. I feel it undermines me and they lose respect for me as a manager.

I emailed him back and kinda flipped a little saying don't ever do that again.

I feel I need to bring it up to my boss, the owner, but don't want to seem like a tattle tale.

Thoughts?

·
Shirtcocker
60,639 Posts
Morris Buttermaker said:
I have an interesting work issue maybe I can get some opinions on.

I'm a manager of three people in a web design dept. We handle mostly the usability and creative side.

The other dept, the tech side is managed by a guy who is my equal. He also manages three people.

The issue is, he likes to step on my toes and try to tell my people what to do. We do have a bit of cross over in the departments where I can use his people and him mine, but he really likes to play "the boss" sometimes.

Example, tonight he sent out an email after I left to all my people and his asking them to do something a certain way, something I feel he absolutely should have consulted me on first when telling my people I manage to do something. I feel it undermines me and they lose respect for me as a manager.