Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
943 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I need a workstand. Any reason not to go with the Spin Doctor Pro G3 that's got a very nice discount now on a certain popular online store? (not sure if I should post link or not) I will be using it to work on both my road and mountain bikes. I can also see it be used to store a bike between rides since my garage is a bit of a mess right now lol

·
Registered
727 Posts
I've been using the Pro G3 for several years now. I like it. Maybe a bit larger then some but it's served me well.

I don't know what crit_boy's comment means. I clamp my bikes wherever I like, on the top tube or the seat post. I use a cloth between the jaws and the bike to prevent scratching.

That being said, I bought a Park PCS-10 stand for my son-in-law last Christmas. I thought it looked nice, (especially the clamp) but have not used it myself. It's quite a bit more compact.

·
Registered
2,346 Posts
While I love my Feedback Sports work stand, there's nothing wrong with the Spin Doctor Pro G3. And, I'm with J.R. - I have no clue what "there is a reason no to go with the performance stand - it clamps the seat post" means. A) Clamping the seat post is preferred and B) That stand will clamp the seat post, seat tube, top tube... it rotates.

·
Registered
943 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
I wound up with the Park PCS-10. I decided their quick clamp was worth the extra cash. All of the Feedback stands were sold out except the Pro Elite model that was $100 more than the Park.

·
Registered
3,935 Posts
I have no clue what "there is a reason no to go with the performance stand - it clamps the seat post" means. A) Clamping the seat post is preferred and B) That stand will clamp the seat post, seat tube, top tube... it rotates.
if the design is to clamp the seat post and it's Carbon Fiber - bad idea - same for top tube.

·
Registered
2,346 Posts