Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner

1 - 20 of 79 Posts

·
eminence grease
18,538 Posts
My Calfee had a similarly shaped ("L") crack in the seat tube, near the location of the derailleur clamp. It was due to my stupid, ham fisted installment of said clamp. Mine was different than yours due to the stresses that are applied in those unique areas.

I called Calfee and he told me that it was fine for a while, but that ultimately I needed to get it repaired. Which I did, and it's been fine ever since.

Craig repairs all types of CF bikes and all kinds of problems. I'd send him the picture and ask his opinion. It's free and he actually knows what he's talking about.

·
Registered
5,963 Posts
I probably would not

I am far from an expert here. From the photo, the cracks *appear* to go below the finish level. I am quite amazed how much damage from a minor impact. I would be concerned of a stress riser causing a failure down the road. That's a tough decison to make because this involves some serious cash. You could try getting some additional opinions but I doubt many shops would want to stick their neck out on liability. Contacting the manufacturer might be a good idea also. I hope it works out for you.

·
Registered
47 Posts
Being 185lbs, I don't think I could decend on it without worrying. The fiber is obviously damaged, thats it's strength. Your health is worth a lot more than the cost of a repair, or worse case a new frame.

Sorry to see it bro, not sure if anything other than a steel would have taken that blow. And even then you would be looking at a nice dent.

·
Registered
68 Posts
Man that sucks. At first look, it looked like its just a cosmetic clear coat damage, but the large original photo shows fiber indeed has been cracked. Although, I doubt there is a immediate danger to you, but I would advise not to ride it. It may worsen the damage and less chance of a repair, if at all. I hope you can get it repaired and salvage the frame.

·
Registered
204 Posts
Not a chance