Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Bald Bastard
129 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all, I am new to following (watching) pro cycling and am wondering when did doping start? I'm sure there have always been a few riders taking something but in general when did a large number of the riders start doping? Or is it still just a small number of elite riders? I'm just asking for a little history for myself. Does this go back as far as the Merckx era? Thanks for any info Steve

·
Registered
1,859 Posts
History of performance enhancing drugs.

paramountz said:
I'm just asking for a little history for myself. Does this go back as far as the Merckx era?
Further. Basically, athletes have been using performance enhancing substances for as long as there have been substances that provided (or at least were thought to have provided) performance enhancing effect. Since caffiene containing products (a proven performance enhancer) has been around for longer than bike racing, I think we can say definitively that performance enhancing drugs go back to the very beginning of bike racing.

If you go back to the beginning of the 20th century, you can find accounts of riders taking all kinds of substances which they thought would help performance, from the slightly comical (like drinking cognac before races in cold weather to warm up the body) to the downright scary (using strychnine as a stimulant). As real drugs with true performancing affects started becoming available, they started to be used by cyclists. Amphetimines, steriods, human growth hormone, EPO, etc., have all been known to be used by cyclists not long before being introduced by the medical world.

So, the real question is, how many cyclists have used any or these drugs? Hard to say. But I think we can rest assured that at least some cyclists have been doped up on something through out the history of the sport.

·
Registered
3,364 Posts