Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
5,705 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have three nice road bikes, plus a Litespeed Classic frame and fork that I bought for no good reason, so I don't really need a new bike. But this Colnago Arabesque frame is really tempting. Colnago introduced the Arabesque and the Master in the same year, but only built the Arabesque for one year since it didn’t sell as well. Arabesque had fancy lug work and conventional round tubes; the Master had less fancy lug work and the cool star shaped Gilco tubing. Last year, someone found a box of Arabesque lugs in Ernesto’s basement and Colnago decided to use them to build new versions of the Arabesque with Gilco tubes. The fact that I'm lusting over a steel bike is evidence that I'm over 50 I guess. Anyone have a Master (same geometry and tube set) that they love or hate?

Attachments

·
Registered
165 Posts
Yes I have a Mapie Master, that I love 👍😀😎. Built it up with Campy Athena, custom wheels. Love the paint on yours.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD

·
Doesn't like subtitles
3,808 Posts
I didn't realize they were making new ones. Those are gorgeous frames and definitely lust worthy. I have so many on my want list, the cost of this one keeps it pretty far down.

·
Registered
1,458 Posts
Having just built up a frame (my first one in about 8 1/2 years), my bike lust has temporarily subsided. It's now a matter of enjoying the new bike out on the road. I did buy a carbon Guerciotti back in 06 but had to sell it when the economy went to sh*t. Already owning a steel framed bike, not really lusting after another. A few years back Bicycle Sport Shop used to carry Independent Fab. Their stainless steel was a sweet looking bike.