Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hello All:

I look forward to asking all of you annoying questions as I am new to cycling and did not realize how many things one can learn about cycling. I just wanted to get on a bike and ride for health and exercise (I still do), but I enjoy learning as many aspects about something that I can.

The past four days I went on three 12 mile rides and have averaged a pace of 13 mph. I hope I can make some kind of reasonable progress that will allow me to ride with more experienced riders who seem to average 16 to 18 mph because I am sure that will be the best way to learn - from their experience.

Any thoughts on what it can take to reach that goal?

Thanks,

Matt

·
A wheelist
11,324 Posts
Welcome newb. The answer to your question is both easy and very complex - ride lots. The best single thing is "consistency". Four days per week, regular, is way better than going crazy for a week and then doing nothing for three weeks. But - here is the downside - if you do too much you will get burned out and quit the sport. You must learn to curb your enthusiasm as it's only during rest that we improve. If you don't rest, recover and allow the body to get used to the overload, you don't progress and you regress.

And it must be some form of progressive overload too - if you always curl 20lbs you'll never curl 50lbs. But do too much overload too fast and you get hurt. Don't bother with books and articles on training just yet. Get to love the sport as it's the love of it that will keep you coming back for more.

Take the whole year for doing "conversational pace" rides - alone and with friends.