Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Somewhat of a newbie here. I've been biking now for about 6 months. I've gotten my distance up to a little over 30 miles per day (17-20 mph) 4 days a week. Something I've noticed is that although it is cool to try and go faster, I'm finding that there is a part of the ride where I just get into a zone of just pure bliss. All my problems/distractions disappear and I'm just there with the bike. I don't experience this when I'm on a group ride. I realize that at 52 my chances of competing professionally are limited. But I think I'm satisfied at this point. Wondering if others experience a meditative state on their rides.

·
Registered
1,158 Posts
I do

This is probably the main reason that I ride. My attention becomes highly focused, I become completely absorbed in the experience, so that the distinction between internal and external are blurred, and the world seems right.

Only seems to happen on solo rides, though.

egoroff said:
Somewhat of a newbie here. I've been biking now for about 6 months. I've gotten my distance up to a little over 30 miles per day (17-20 mph) 4 days a week. Something I've noticed is that although it is cool to try and go faster, I'm finding that there is a part of the ride where I just get into a zone of just pure bliss. All my problems/distractions disappear and I'm just there with the bike. I don't experience this when I'm on a group ride. I realize that at 52 my chances of competing professionally are limited. But I think I'm satisfied at this point. Wondering if others experience a meditative state on their rides.
________
Suzuki t series history

·
Banned
4,302 Posts
egoroff said:
Sometimes I zone out for awhile and suddenly realize I just climbed a couple hills and barely noticed them. Goes to show how much things like pain and effort are tied to mental perception.