Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Does anyone out there have any reviews on this wheel set. I kinda would like something more than the company info.
Zipp flash-point 60 carbon composite set.
Thanks in advance

·
Registered
838 Posts
lsthe3 said:
I have the FP40 and they didn't last 300 MILES. Look at differt options. I have heard good things about the comparable Mavics Carbon
I would like to hear what about the wheels did not last longer than 300 miles. I was looking into selling wheels built with Flash Point rims and would like to hear the problems you had with them.

·
Registered
44 Posts
Im not an expert with wheels. The problems I ran into were the following. Overheating rims causing delamination. Hubs freezing or locking up, Spoke nipples bulling through. All of these problems seem to be common in Zipp products. If you go to the review board on this site you can see similar experiences.

On Zipps defense the initial customer service has been good at giving me a RA number. Hopefully they will send a new pair without any hassle.

·
Registered
44 Posts
I just bought them in June so I believe they might be 2005. Like I said the customer services was responsive. Time will tell if they follow through. From my feed back at rides it seems like the Mavics are the way to go.

·
Registered
44 Posts
after talking with Zipp CS seems liked they are replacing the wheels free of charge. So far I am very pleased with the cust service. I'm crossing my fingers that Zipp has fixed the 05 problem and looking forward to enjoying the new wheelset

·
Registered
44 Posts
I had the red decals. I will keep you posted on the new wheels ans the color of the decals. Do you know if the white decals are the new decals? I saw a picture of them and like them, kind of hoping I get the white decals.

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #11 ·