Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

· Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I'm just getting into heart rate training and feeling out my zones. I've come to realize that i have a big gaping hole where zone 2-3 exists. I have traditionally done a lot of hill training and higher intensity stuff and am really starting to notice it in races where I'll be in a pack at about 140-145 and then running into a hill where it will elevate to about 165-170 and can't get it down or control my breath.

The problem I'm noticing is that I'm not aerobic at 145 and when I hit that hill, my heart rate rises and I can't get it to come down. My theory is that it's the 2-3 zone hole b/c, come second lap, after powering through some sprints right before that very same hill and starting it at 160, I can power through that hill climb and even attack at the top. During the hill climb, I'm in control of my breath and stay steady at 170-175.

Anybody hae any ideas or know of where I can get info about this?

Thanks,
Steve

· waterproof*
41,745 Posts
I'm not sure who's zones you're referring to, there are a number of books and manuals out there. And I think you need more experience w/ the HRM, but you may have discovered the fact that the transition from aerobic to anaerobic is not a nice straight line, but sort of a lagging jump. And, in a race / fast group you can put out higher numbers than solo.

· Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thanks for the tips guys... or trying to understand my question. I guess I'm trying to toss around a bunch of different theories in my head as to why I was suffering on lap 1 and then felt strong on lap 2. I was definitely working harder in lap 2 since I got dropped by the lead pack and was working with a smaller one. 175 felt like death on lap 1 and 175 felt good on lap 2. Was I not warmed up enough? Should I be working harder leading into hill efforts? Or do I just flat out need to do more interval training.